top of page

Surgery Update

Whoa...that was not what I expected!


Overall, the surgery was successful, but it was NOT easy breezy! The surgeon was able to remove the tumors, however, things didn't go as smoothly as planned. The surgery was about twice as long we expected. They ran into a lot of trouble with scar tissue from previous surgeries, and physically getting to the tumors was very difficult. During the middle of surgery they had to bring in a transplant surgeon to lend a hand. The area that they needed access to, is very similar to a person getting a kidney transplant. Once they were finally in the right spot, the tumors were tricky to remove. The surgeon called them "sticky" like tar and very attached to a large blood vessel. So it took a lot of time to dissect them out. I think they were gummy like that because the treatment I have been on was working to kill them. Which is great news! They will send everything off to pathology though and that will tell us more about that.


Needless to say, I woke up wondering how in the world it was 1pm already and about screamed when I saw my incision was two times the size I was expecting. Recovery is going to be harder than I expected too, but as usual my family & friends have everything covered! I am such a lucky girl to have the best support system ever.


I will stay on the treatment for a year to try to prevent any spread and will continue with scans to monitor that - and after that I am praying so hard that it will be gone for good and I can finally get off this roller coaster. I want to thank everyone that is reading this for the all the prayers, good thoughts and vibes they have sent me...from literally around the world. My mom and I tear up every time we talk about the amount of people praying for me. It's just overwhelming and I am SO grateful.


XOXO,

Lacey




bottom of page