top of page

First one is done!

Good morning! Yesterday was my first treatment and so far so good! The "new" medication they are adding (Yervoy/ipilmumab) takes about 90 minutes to administer, and the old one (Opdivo/Nivolmumab) only take about 30 minutes. So it's a pretty quick process. By the way, the reason each medication has two names is because one is the generic and one is the trade name. So it's just one more thing to keep up with. ;)

Two of my besties from Indiana came out to help me with this first treatment. One came with me, prepared with notepads for note taking and puke bags for the ride home (which thankfully were not needed). The other stayed home and managed "school" with the kids...and somehow managed to do about 55 loads of laundry that I didn't even know needed done.


Side effects have been minimal so far. Fatigue is definitely probably the biggest one. I came home and slept for 4 hours and then still went to bed at 10pm exhausted. I woke up from my nap with a mild itchy rash on my chest, which I am very familiar with. This was a normal occurrence after every treatment last time, so nothing new yet.


My girlfriends leave tonight and my mom gets in soon. I feel a little guilty about all the help since I feel pretty "normal" so far...but I'm not complaining! It's pretty darn nice to wake up to a home cooked meal and a stocked freezer. ;) I'm feeling pretty #blessed, and everyone that knows me well, knows I'm not a fan of that saying, so this is a big deal! I really am thankful for all the prayers and good vibes from friends, family and strangers that are just caring because they are nice! It's been a bright spot of my 2020 for sure to see all your messages, cards, and emails.


Next treatment is in 3 weeks (Oct 15), so I will be quiet for awhile and focus on drivers training with my sophomore, geometry with my freshman and perfecting youtube smoothie recipes with my 5th grader. She has school too, but amazingly, she seems to handling it a bit better than her brothers. ;)


Happy Fall Friday!


XOXO,

Lacey



bottom of page