top of page

The after party!


Well, it's a good thing I am not a professional blogger, because I am pretty terrible at it. I just realized how long it has been since I wrote an update. I had my final cancer treatment in May! Two of my best girlfriends came out from Indiana to be by my side. Jerome told me that morning that he wasn't going to be able to be there (I know, right??). Well, he ended up surprising me as they pulled my IV out with flowers, a TV CREW with bright lights and a many microphones, Sully (George W. Bush's former service dog), and about 50 strangers squeezed into my treatment room. I'm glad they caught my reaction on camera, because it was pretty darn funny. A subtle mix of happy surprise and "I am going to kill you" glare at Jerome. The camera crew was there because they did a short commercial for Walter Reed Hospital and included us. It turned out pretty good despite my zero chance to prepare for the interview. I will try to find a link to the commercial and post it below.

So once all that was done, it was time to figure out what my new norm is (without the weekly trips to Walter Reed for appointments). I will have PET scans every 4 months for at least 2 years. I also will continue to see my oncologist and dermatologist every couple months so they can look and prod at me. I am SO happy to report that my first scan in June was ALL CLEAR...or NED as they say in the cancer world (it means No Evidence of Disease). So life is back to normal, well, sort of...

Because of this experience (and nothing to do with my husband being the SG..ha!), I have had some amazing opportunities to learn more about the Melanoma community and be a part of the mission to educate young people on the dangers of sun exposure. I have met some wonderful friends (or "melahomies" as we like to say) in the process as well. One thing that I am most proud of is that I was invited to tell my story to Women's Health magazine (link below). I also have been invited to be the guest speaker at the Shades of Hope Gala hosted by IMPACT Melanoma in November (gulp). I am excited at the idea of working with these different groups to help spread the word about sun safety. People always ask me if I used to "tan a lot or use tanning beds". My answer is always, well yes, but not very successfully. I never actually got a tan...just burns and freckles that eventually turned into wrinkles and skin cancer. Sigh. Oh, how I wish someone would just have shaken my younger self!

So to sum it up... DC is still crazy DC, the kids are still crazy kids, and Jerome is traveling like crazy ALL the time. But without a doubt, I am so thankful to God that I am still around to be part of this crazy life! Thank you all that have followed me through this journey and have prayed for me and our family. I know that it made a difference.

XOXO,

Lacey

Link to Women's Health article...still looking for the Walter Reed one!

https://www.womenshealthmag.com/health/a27457714/melanoma-skin-cancer-diagnosis-treatment-women/

bottom of page