top of page

7th one done!

Finally an update! Didn't realize it has been almost 2 months already since my last post. Summer has been crazy busy and fun...filled with many trips back to Indiana, late nights of card playing and boating with cousins and friends, drinks on back porches, sleeping in (not Jerome), and a lot of laughing.

As far as treatments, they have been just fitting in to our crazy schedule. I just had my 7th one this past Thursday. Opdivo was just approved for once a month dosing, instead of every two weeks (with double the amount of medicine). Since my side effects have been pretty nonexistent, my doctor thought I could handle it. So dose #6 and #7 have been double amount, but spaced out by a month. Overall, the switch has been pretty easy. I have noticed a few annoying side effects with the larger dose, but nothing that cannot be managed. It's mostly just fatigue, itchy skin, heartburn, some nausea, weight gain...if I didn't know better, I may think I was pregnant! LOL Also, I haven't had to go a single infusion by myself yet either...always a friend or family member by my side (Thank you God!). This week my friend Natalie flew out to take care of the crazy Adams' crew (not an easy feat).

Oh...and I almost forgot the GREAT news...probably should have started with this! I had my first post-surgery PETscan July 5th. I have to do this every three months to make sure the Melanoma hasn't popped up anywhere else in my body since surgery. Everything was clear!! Yay!! I tried to convince Jerome that considering this news, we probably could just stop the infusions now. He was not amused, and didn't even consider my argument. ;)

I hope everyone is enjoying their summers! We have about three weeks left before school starts. We are squeezing in more little trip in too. Our first trip to the Jersey Shore...well actually Long Beach, NJ. So one week of fun and two weeks to try to get this family whipped back into school shape. Alarm clocks will not be our friend in a few weeks!

XOXO,

Lacey

bottom of page