top of page

Post surgery update!

Good morning!

I'm starting off with the most important part...THANK YOU for all the prayers the last couple days. I feel them and they are working!! I am overwhelmed by how many people (even people that don't even know me!) have reached out and prayed for me. This whole process is so humbling. Just thank you, thank you from the bottom of my heart. I wish I could hug everyone of you.

So now the nitty gritty...

It's been about 24 hours since surgery and I am feeling pretty good! This surgery was not nearly as bad as I imagined. I would say it's about the same level as one of my c-sections. I was up and moving around yesterday already. I had a hospital baked potato, which was not too bad actually (if you didn't know I have a hospital food phobia...I worked in way too many nursing homes/hospitals when I was younger). My mom stayed overnight with me last night and slept on a chair cot, which she said was like sleeping on the wood floor...so I don't expect a another slumber party tonight. LOL

As far as the surgery, the surgeons said it went perfectly and they removed all visible cancer and the surrounding nodes. The nodes were rushed off to an NIH lab where they will do their research magic on them. They will learn all sorts of info from the tumors and that will help us decide on how to proceed. They also will be used in a research trial where they are using cells to make custom-made chemo (not the official name). As for right now, they will most likely suggest a year of immunotherapy, but that wouldn't start for a few weeks. The reason they suggest immunotherapy is because there may still be micro-metastasis still lurking around that we just can't see yet. Fingers crossed that there isn't, but better safe than sorry I guess. One funny story quick...the doctors keep telling me that there "minimal" side effects from immunotherapy, unlike old school chemo. So I finally asked one doctor last night what these "minimal" effects could be. He said the most common is a rash that looks like acne ALL over your body and face. Say What?!? I mean, don't be me wrong, I will go through anything to keep me around, but that is not something I am going to look forward to. So anyway, if you see me in a few months and I look like a teenager going through puberty, you will know why. :)

Well, thank you prayer warriors, you are rockstars and God is hearing our prayers! :) I love you all!

XOXO, Lacey

bottom of page