top of page

And, that's a wrap...


The good part about not updating your blog since October, is that it makes a year go by in a snap! I can't believe it, but I am down to ONE MORE treatment! It is scheduled for May 9th and I can't wait for the nurses to sing "hit the road jack" to me and be on my way (I've seen it done for others, and it's pretty cute). :) Over the past year, I have had 16 infusions, as well as 2 pet scans. Both scans have been clear, so after the last treatment, I will move onto to maintenance mode. Which will be every three month appointments (alternating oncology & dermatology) for a year or so, scans every 6 months for probably 2 years, and oncology follow up for 5 years.

My take aways from this experience are many. First and foremost, thank you God for Immunotherapy and the doctors that made it possible, it is a MIRACLE. I firmly believe as research develops and it becomes available for more cancer types, it will be the eventual "cure" to cancer. I would never have believed that my once a month cancer treatments would just be another thing on my calendar to get through. For me, the side effects never really got worse than skin rashes, dry mouth/skin, fatigue, and some thyroid issues. They are so easy to deal with that it's hard to even remember what's going on in my body. Millie has said to me several times this year..."so, are you done with this cancer thing yet, because I want to do XYZ?" Ha...gotta love kids, it's all about them. She's right though, I am ready to be "done" too.

Second take away is how blessed I feel to have been out here and able to get treated at Walter Reed. Everyone knows I was not super excited to move out here, but it really was where I was meant to be. I love my oncologist so much. I remember him telling me in the beginning of the year that I should just live my life normally, and let him do the watching and worrying. He went on to say, now of course, trying to have a low key, stress free year would be ideal though. So I took that advice, and tried to lay low...here are just a few things that we snuck in on this low-key year...ha! Seriously, a little afraid what Jerome may have lined up for us next year.

Easter Egg Roll at the White House (twice)

First State Dinner at the White House

Long Beach Island vacation week

Fourth of July celebration at the White House

Girls trip to Fort Lauderdale

Walked in the Veteran's Day Parade in NYC

Drove back to Indiana 5 times (3 of them solo with three kids and a crazy dog)

Black History month event at the White House (twice)

Family vacation to Las Vegas and Grand Canyon

Disney Land

Hollywood/ LA

Sea World San Diego

Universal Studios CA

Hosted family and friends 13 times at our home (MY FAVORITE OF ALL)

Girls trip to Del Ray Beach

3rd Grade room parent (NOT MY FAVORITE) ;)

3 Broadway shows

Chaperoned 6th grade field trip to Philadelphia

Next, I am so thankful for connections and people I have been able to meet in the "Melanoma community". One of the most exciting opportunities, is actually an event this weekend. Jerome and I have been invited as special guests/honorees at an amazing gala supporting Melanoma. The organization is called Polka Dot Mama and the founder has become one of my best friends. She is a Melanoma survivor and started this organization to raise awareness and promote skin checks/early detection. She is way too modest to admit it, but she has saved and is saving lives every day (all while looking fab in polka dot high heels)! So my personal PSA for the day...get your skin checked! Make it a regular thing, like going to the dentist. Actually - bad example, I hate the dentist, it's much easier than that! Don't ever ignore anything, even if it seems small or silly. I will probably drive my dermatologist crazy the next few years!

Finally, thank you all for the prayers, texts, messages, cards, gifts, and support of this year. I am so blessed to have such awesome people in my life. We would not have made it though without you all!

Cheers to one more treatment and being "done with this cancer thing"! ;)

XOXO,

Lacey

bottom of page